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The following standards are designed to provide for a systematic method of appointing qualified counsel 

to indigents in criminal cases. These standards address principles of eligibility and certification 

for trial, writs of habeas corpus, revocations of probation and counsel on appeal. 

  

Because Navarro County counsel as well as out-of-county counsel available for indigent criminal 

appointment numbers fewer than twenty individuals, the judges of Navarro County are 

completely familiar with the proficiency levels of all local counsel. These guidelines provide for 

a high level of discretion to be exercised by judges, based upon their almost daily review of the 

conduct of a small number of attorneys. Navarro County indigent practice has always 

incorporated considerable judicial discretion in the appointment of attorneys, and the jurists of 

Navarro County, historically, have used utmost care in balancing the rights of indigent 

defendants and varying levels of attorney proficiency to achieve adequate representation. No 

doubt, the great majority of judges who comprise the rural judiciary have executed the same care 

Prompt Magistration 
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A.    Arresting Officer Responsibilities 



                                i.            The arresting officer, or the person having custody of the 

arrestee, shall ensure that every arrestee shall be brought before a magistrate 

without unnecessary delay, but not later than 48 hours after the person is arrested.  

                              ii.            Unless arrested pursuant to an arrest warrant, bench warrant, 

capias, or other order of a magistrate or judge, necessary forms establishing 

probable cause must be completed and filed at the time an arrestee is booked into 

jail for any felony or misdemeanor punishable by incarceration. 

                            iii.             Release of defendants arrested without warrant 

1.      A person arrested for a misdemeanor without a warrant and who is detained in 

jail must be released not later than the 24th hour after arrest, on a bond in an 

amount not to exceed $5,000, if a magistrate has not determined that 

probable cause exists to believe that the person committed the offense.  

2.      A person arrested for a felony without a warrant and who is detained in jail 

must be released not later than the 48th hour after arrest, on a bond in an 

amount not to exceed $10,000, if a magistrate has not determined that 

probable cause exists to believe that the person committed the offense.  

3.      If requested by the state, a magistrate may postpone the release of the 

defendant for not more than 72 hours after the defendant's arrest if a 

probable cause determination has not been made, in compliance with the 

procedure set forth in Article 17.033, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. 



B.     Magistrate Duties 

                                i.            At the Magistrate’s hearing, the magistrate should determine 

if accused can speak and understand English, or if the defendant is deaf. 

                              ii.            After making such determination, the magistrate shall, in an 

appropriate manner consistent with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Articles 

38.30 and 38.31, do the following: 

1.      Advise the accused of the accusation against him/her and any affidavit filed 

therewith; 

2.      Admonish the accused of: 

a.       The right to retain counsel; 

b.      The right to remain silent; 

c.       The right to have an attorney present during any interview with peace 

officers or attorneys representing the state; 

d.      The right to terminate an interview at any time; 

e.       The right not to make a statement and that any statement made by the 

accused may be used against him/her; and 

f.       The right to an examining trial. 



3.      Inform the accused of the right to appointed counsel if the person cannot 

afford counsel and the procedures for requesting appointment of counsel. 

4.      Inquire as to whether accused is requesting that counsel be appointed. 

5.      Provide accused persons requesting appointed counsel with necessary forms 

for requesting appointment of counsel and ensure that reasonable assistance 

in completing required forms is provided to the accused at the time of the 

magistrate’s hearing. 

6.      If the magistrate has reason to believe the accused is not mentally competent, 

the magistrate shall enter a request for counsel on behalf of the accused. 

Such a request will alert the appointing authority that counsel competent to 

represent mentally ill persons should be appointed. 

                            iii.            In cases where the individual was arrested without an arrest 

warrant, bench warrant, capias, or other order of magistrate or judge, the 

magistrate shall determine if there is probable cause to believe the person 

committed the offense. 

1.      If probable cause has not been determined by a magistrate: 

a.       A person arrested for a misdemeanor must be released on bond, in an 

amount not to exceed $5,000, not later than 24 hours after the 

person's arrest. 



b.      A person arrested for a felony must be released on bond, in an amount 

not to exceed $10,000, not later than 48 hours after the person’s 

arrest. 

c.       If requested by the state, the magistrate may postpone the release of 

the defendant for not more than 72 hours after the defendant's arrest, 

in compliance with the procedure set forth in Article 17.033, Texas 

Code of Criminal Procedure. 

                            iv.            The magistrate shall set the amount of bail and any conditions 

of bond for the accused, if bail is allowed by law and has not been set by the court 

or magistrate issuing a warrant. 

                              v.            The magistrate shall record the following: 

1.      The date and time the accused was arrested and the date and time when he/she 

was brought before the magistrate. 

2.      Whether the magistrate informed the accused of the right to request 

appointment of counsel and asked the accused whether he/she wants to 

request counsel. 

3.      Whether the accused requested appointment of counsel 

                            vi.            If the magistrate is not authorized to appoint counsel and if 

the accused requests appointment of counsel, the magistrate shall transmit or 

cause to be transmitted the magistrate form and any other forms requesting 



appointment of counsel to the Indigent Defense Coordinator. (the appointing 

authority) The forms requesting appointment of counsel shall be transmitted 

without unnecessary delay, but not later than 24 hours after the person arrested 

requests appointment of counsel. 

                          vii.            If the magistrate is authorized to appoint counsel, the 

magistrate shall make a determination of indigence and appoint counsel if the 

defendant is indigent within three working days unless the County has a U.S. 

Census population over 250,000, in which case counsel shall be appointed within 

one working day. 

                        viii.            If a request for counsel was made at magistration, the 

appointing authority shall forward the magistrate form and any other forms 

requesting appointment of counsel to the appropriate clerk to be put into the case 

file. 

                            ix.            If a request for counsel was not made at magistration, the 

magistrate will forward the magistrate form to the clerk to be put into the case 

file. 

                              x.            For persons arrested on out-of-county warrants, the 

magistrate will ask the defendant if he/she would like to request appointed 

counsel. The magistrate will record the response, and if counsel is requested, the 

magistrate will provide the arrestee with the appropriate forms for requesting 

counsel. The magistrate will ensure assistance in completing the forms at the 



same time. The forms will be transmitted to the appointing authority in the county 

issuing the warrant within 24 hours of the request being made. 

Indigence Determination Standards 
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A.    Definitions, as used in this rule: 

                                i.            “Indigent” means a person who is not financially able to 

employ counsel. 

                              ii.            “Net household income” means all income of the accused 

and spousal income actually available to the accused. Such income shall include: 

take-home wages and salary (gross income earned minus those deductions 

required by law or as a condition of employment); net self-employment income 

(gross income minus business expenses, and those deductions required by law or 

as a condition of operating the business); regular payments from a governmental 

income maintenance program, alimony, child support, public or private pensions, 

or annuities; and income from dividends, interest, rents, royalties, or periodic 

receipts from estates or trusts. Seasonal or temporary income shall be considered 

on an annualized basis, averaged together with periods in which the accused has 

no income or lesser income. 

                            iii.            “Household” means all individuals who are actually 

dependent on the accused for financial support. 

                            iv.            “The cost of obtaining competent private legal representation” 

includes the reasonable cost of support services such as investigators and expert 

witnesses as necessary and appropriate given the nature of the case. 



B.     Eligibility for Appointment 

                                i.            An accused is presumed indigent if any of the following 

conditions or factors are present: 

1.      At the time of requesting appointed counsel, the accused or accused’s 

dependents are eligible to receive food stamps, Medicaid, Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families, Supplemental Security Income, or public 

housing; 

2.      The accused’s net household income does not exceed 125% of the Poverty 

Guidelines as revised annually by the United States Department of Health 

and Human Services and published in the Federal Register; or 

3.      The accused is currently serving a sentence in a correctional institution, is 

currently residing in a public mental health facility, or is subject to a 

proceeding in which admission or commitment to such a mental health 

facility is sought. 

ii.              An accused who does not meet any of the standards above shall nevertheless 

be considered indigent if the accused is unable to retain private counsel without 

substantial hardship to the accused or the accused’s dependents. In considering if 

obtaining private counsel will create a substantial hardship, the appointing 

authority shall take into account: 

1.      the nature of the criminal charge(s), 

2.      anticipated complexity of the defense, 

3.      the estimated cost of obtaining competent private legal representation for the 

matter(s) charged; 



4.      the amount needed for the support of the accused and the accused’s 

dependents;  

5.      accused’s income, 

6.      source of income, 

7.      assets and property owned, 

8.      outstanding obligations, 

9.      necessary expenses, 

10.  the number and ages of dependents, and 

11.  spousal income that is available to the accused. 

iii.            Factors  NOT to be considered in determining indigence: 

1.      The accused’s posting of bail or ability to post bail may not be considered in 

determining whether the accused is indigent. 

2.      The resources available to friends or relatives of the accused may not be 

considered in determining whether the accused is indigent. 

iv.    Only the accused's financial circumstances as measured by the financial standards stated 

in this rule shall be used as the basis for determining indigence. 

C.     Indigence Proceedings: 

                                i.            The appointing authority can require the accused to respond 

to questions about the accused’s financial status, produce documentation 

supporting financial information provided, and/or order a court official to verify 

financial information provided. 



                              ii.            Information gathered for determining indigence, both in the 

affidavit of indigence and through oral examination, may not be for any purpose 

other than: 

1.      Determining if accused is (or is not) indigent; or 

2.      Impeaching direct testimony of accused regarding the accused’s indigence. 

                            iii.            A request by the appointing authority for additional 

information, documentation, and/or verification cannot delay appointment of 

counsel beyond the timelines specified in Parts I and IV of these rules and 

contained in Code of Criminal Procedure article 1.051. 

                            iv.            An accused determined to be indigent is presumed to remain 

indigent for the remainder of the case unless a material change in the accused’s 

financial circumstances occurs. 

1.      An accused’s status as indigent or not indigent may be reviewed in a formal 

hearing at any stage of court proceedings, on a motion for reconsideration 

by the accused, the accused’s attorney, or the attorney representing the state. 

The accused’s indigent status will be presumed not to have changed. The 

presumption can be rebutted in the review proceedings based on the 

following: 

a.       Evidence of a material change in the accused’s financial 

circumstances, as a result of which the accused does not meet any of 

the standards for indigence contained in these rules; or 



b.      Additional information regarding the accused’s financial 

circumstances that shows that the accused does not meet any of the 

standards for indigence contained in these rules. 

2.      If an accused previously determined to be indigent is subsequently determined 

not to be indigent, the attorney shall be compensated by the county 

according to the fee schedule for hours reasonably expended on the case.   

                              v.            If the court determines that a defendant has financial 

resources that enable him to offset in part or in whole the costs of the legal 

services provided, including any expenses and costs, the court shall order the 

defendant to pay during the pendency of the charges or, if convicted, as court 

costs the amount that it finds the defendant is able to pay. 

Minimum Attorney Qualifications 
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III.      Minimum Attorney Qualifications for Adults (Small Sized Counties) 

A.    The Judges hearing criminal cases shall establish attorney appointment lists for the following 

categories of offenses. Attorneys may apply for and be placed on multiple lists. To be 

eligible for an appointment list, an attorney must meet the following minimum 

requirements: 

                                i.            Misdemeanor Qualification Requirements: 



1.      All attorneys on the appointment list must ensure all information on their 

application is correct; 

2.      An attorney must be a licensed practicing attorney and a member in good 

standing of the State Bar of Texas; 

3.      An attorney shall submit by October 15th each year a statement that describes 

the percentage of the attorney's practice time that was dedicated to work 

based on appointments accepted in this county for adult criminal cases and 

juvenile delinquency cases for the prior 12 months that begins on October 1 

and ends on September 30. The report must be submitted through the online 

form to the Texas Indigent Defense Commission/form prescribed by the 

Texas Indigent Defense Commission to the court administration office in the 

county. 

4.      An attorney shall complete a minimum of 6 hours of CLE in the area of 

criminal law and procedure each year. All attorneys on the appointment list 

must file a certificate with the court administration office each year attesting 

to completion of the required CLE or submit documentation showing that 

the attorney is certified as a specialist in criminal law. Continuing legal 

education activity completed with-in a one year period immediately 

preceding an attorney’s initial reporting period may be used to meet the 

educational requirements for the initial year. Continuing legal education 

activity completed during any reporting period in excess of the minimum of 



4 hours for such period may be applied to the following period’s 

requirement. The carryover provision applies to one year only; 

5.      An attorney must have a minimum 1 year(s) experience in criminal law; 

6.      An attorney may not have been the recipient of any public disciplinary action 

by the State Bar of Texas or any other attorney licensing authority of any 

state or the United States within the last 3 year(s); 

7.      An attorney must maintain an office capable of receiving email, fax, and 

telephone calls; 

8.      An attorney must have the ability to produce typed motions and orders; 

9.      An attorney shall notify the court administration office promptly, in writing, 

of any matter that would disqualify the attorney by law, regulation, rule or 

under these guidelines from receiving appointments to represent indigent 

defendants. 

        10.   An attorney may submit a written request for a waiver of one or more of the 

minimum requirements. Such request will be denied unless the Judges 

unanimously approve the waiver.  

                              ii.            State Jail and Third Degree Felony Case Qualification 

Requirements 

1.      An attorney must meet general requirements for misdemeanor appointments; 



2.      An attorney must have a minimum 1 year(s) experience in criminal law; 

                            iii.            First and Second Degree Felony Case Qualification 

Requirements 

1.      An attorney must meet the general requirements for State Jail and Third 

Degree Felony appointments. 

2.      An attorney must have a minimum 2 year(s) experience in criminal law; 

3.      An attorney must have experience as 1st or 2nd chair in at least 3 felony case(s) 

tried to verdict before a jury. At least 3 of the trial(s) must have been 

felonies. The styles and cause numbers of these cases must be listed in the 

District Courts appointment application form. 

                            iv.            Capital Case Qualification Requirements: 

1.      Lead trial counsel must be on the list of attorneys approved by the local 

selection committee of this Administrative Judicial Region for appointment 

as lead counsel in death penalty cases, as provided in Article 26.052, Texas 

Code of Criminal Procedure. 

2.      Second chair counsel must be on the list of attorneys approved by the local 

selection committee of this administrative judicial region for appointment as 

lead trial counsel or second chair counsel in death penalty cases, as provided 

in Article 26.052, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. 



3.      Appellate counsel must be on the list of attorneys approved by the local 

selection committee of this administrative judicial region for appointment as 

appellate counsel in death penalty cases, as provided in Article 26.052, 

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. 

                              v.            Appeal Qualification Requirements - An attorney must meet 

at least one of the following criteria: 

1.      Be currently board certified in criminal law by the Texas Board of Legal 

Specialization; or 

2.      Have personally authored and filed at least three criminal appellate briefs or 

post-conviction writs of habeas corpus; or 

3.      Have submitted an appellate writing sample approved by a majority of the 

judges; or 

4.      Have worked as a briefing clerk of an appellate court for a period of at least 

one year. 

B.     Approval for Appointment Lists 

                                i.            Misdemeanor List - An attorney must be approved by a 

majority of the Statutory County Court Judges hearing criminal cases. 



                              ii.            State Jail and Third Degree Felony, First and Second Degree 

Felony List, Capital Case List, and Appeal List  - An attorney must be approved 

for each list by a majority of the District Court Judges hearing criminal cases. 

C.     Removal from Appointment List - The judges and Indigent Defense Coordinator will monitor 

attorney performance on a continuing basis to assure the competency of attorneys on the 

list. An attorney may be removed or suspended, as appropriate, from one or more 

appointment lists by a majority vote of the judges. 

D.    Reinstatement to Appointment Lists 

                                i.            An attorney who was removed from the appointment list for 

non-completion of the required CLE hours may be immediately reinstated upon 

providing proof that the attorney has completed the required hours so long as the 

attorney otherwise meets the other qualifications under this Plan. 

                              ii.            An attorney who was removed from the appointment list for 

not submitting the attorney's annual practice time report may be immediately 

reinstated upon submission of the report so long as the attorney otherwise meets 

the other qualifications under this Plan. 

                            iii.            An attorney who has been removed from the appointment list 

for any other reason and who wishes to be reinstated must apply through the 

original application process.  

E.     Duties of Appointed Counsel - Appointed Counsel shall: 



                                i.            Notify the court within 72 hours of the receipt of 

appointment; 

                              ii.            Make every reasonable effort to: 

1.      Contact the defendant by the end of the first working day after the date on 

which the attorney is appointed; and 

2.      Interview the defendant as soon as practicable after the attorney is appointed; 

                            iii.            Represent the defendant until: 

1.      Charges are dismissed; 

2.      The defendant is acquitted; 

3.       Appeals are exhausted; or 

4.      The attorney is relieved of his duties by the court or replaced by other counsel 

after a finding of good cause entered on the record. 

                            iv.            Investigate, either by self or through an investigator, the facts 

of the case and be prepared to present any factual defense(s) that may be 

reasonably and arguably available to the defendant; 

                              v.            Brief the law of the case and be prepared to present any legal 

defense(s) that may be reasonably and arguably available to the defendant; 



                            vi.            Be prepared to negotiate with the prosecutor for the most 

favorable resolution of the case as can be achieved through a plea agreement; 

                          vii.            Be prepared to try the case to conclusion either with or 

without a jury; 

                        viii.            Be prepared to file post-trial motions, give notice of appeal and 

appeal the case pursuant to the standards and requirements of the Texas Rules of 

Appellate Procedure; 

                            ix.            Maintain reasonable communication and contact with the 

client at all times and keep the client informed of the status of the case; and 

                              x.            Advise the client on all matters involving the case and such 

collateral matters as may reasonably be required to aid the client is making 

appropriate decisions about the case; and 

                            xi.            Perform the attorney’s duty owed to the defendant in 

accordance with these procedures, the requirements of the Code of Criminal 

Procedure, and applicable rules of ethics. 

                          xii.            Manage attorney’s workload to allow for the provision of 

quality representation and the execution of the responsibilities listed in these rules 

in every case. 

 



 

Prompt Appointment of Counsel 
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A.    Prompt Appointment of Counsel 

                                i.            Counsel shall be appointed as soon as possible to indigent 

defendants, but no later than the end of the third working day after the date on 

which the appointing authority receives the defendant’s request for court 

appointed counsel. Working day means Monday through Friday, excluding 

official state holidays.  Counsel must be appointed whether or not a case has been 

filed in the trial court. 

                              ii.            If the defendant is released from custody prior to the 

appointment of counsel, appointment of counsel is not required until the 

defendant’s first court appearance or when adversarial judicial proceedings are 

initiated, whichever comes first. 

                            iii.            If an indigent defendant is arrested in another county based 

on this county’s warrant, counsel will be appointed within three working days of 

the Indigent Defense Coordinator's receipt of the request for counsel. 

                            iv.            If a defendant is arrested in this county based on another 

county’s warrant, counsel will be appointed for the defendant if, on the eleventh 

day after the arrest, the defendant is still in this county’s custody. 



                              v.            If a defendant wishes to request counsel prior to the initial 

appearance, the forms required to request counsel may be obtained at the Texas 

Indigent Defense Commission’s website at http://tidc.tamu.edu/public.net/ or 

from: the District Clerk's office or Indigent Defense Coordinator. The defendant 

may submit these forms to: Indigent Defense Coordinator. 

The court will rule on all requests for counsel submitted in this manner. 

                            vi.            Appointment Authority 

1.      If no case has been filed in the trial court, the appointing authority for 

misdemeanors is Indigent Defense Coordinator. 

2.      If no case has been filed in the trial court, the appointing authority for felonies 

is Indigent Defense Coordinator. 

3.      If the case has been filed in the trial court, the appointing authority is Indigent 

Defense Coordinator.   

B.     Defendants Appearing Without Counsel - If a defendant appears without counsel in any 

adversary judicial proceeding that may result in punishment by confinement: 

                                i.            The court may not direct or encourage the defendant to 

communicate with the attorney representing the state until the court advises the 

defendant of the right to counsel and the procedure for requesting appointed 

counsel and the defendant has been given a reasonable opportunity to request 

appointed counsel. 



                              ii.            If the defendant has requested appointed counsel, the court 

may not direct or encourage the defendant to communicate with the attorney 

representing the state unless the appointing authority has denied the request and, 

subsequent to the denial, the defendant: 

1.      Has been given a reasonable opportunity to retain and has failed to retain 

appointed counsel; or 

2.      Waived or has waived the opportunity to retain private counsel. 

                            iii.            The attorney representing the state may not: 

1.      Initiate or encourage an attempt to obtain from the defendant a waiver of the 

right to counsel; or 

2.      Communicate with a defendant who has requested the appointment of 

counsel, unless the appointing authority has denied the request and 

subsequent to the denial, the defendant: 

a.       Has been given a reasonable opportunity to retain counsel; or 

b.      Waives or has waived the opportunity to retain private counsel. 

C.     Waiver of the Right to Counsel 

                                i.            A defendant may voluntarily and intelligently waive the 

right to counsel. 



                              ii.            A waiver obtained in violation of section IV.B above is 

presumed invalid. 

                            iii.            If a defendant wishes to waive the right to counsel for 

purposes of entering a guilty plea or proceeding to trial, the court shall advise the 

defendant of the nature of the charges against the defendant and, if the defendant 

is proceeding to trial, the dangers and disadvantages of self-representation.  If the 

court determines that the waiver is voluntarily and intelligently waived, the court 

shall provide the defendant with a statement substantially in the following form, 

which, if signed by the defendant, shall be filed with and become part of the 

record of the proceedings. 

“I have been advised this ___ day of ____, 2___, by the (name of court) Court of 

my right to representation by counsel in the case pending against me.  I 

have been further advised that if I am unable to afford counsel, one will be 

appointed for me free of charge.  Understanding my right to have counsel 

appointed for me free of charge if I am not financially able to employ 

counsel, I wish to waive that right and request the court to proceed with 

my case without an attorney being appointed for me.  I hereby waive my 

right to counsel. (signature of defendant)” 

                            iv.            A defendant may withdraw a waiver of the right to counsel at 

any time but is not entitled to repeat a proceeding previously held or waived 

solely on the grounds of the subsequent appointment or retention of counsel.  If 



the defendant withdraws a waiver, the trial court, in its discretion, may provide 

the appointed counsel 10 days to prepare. 

  

Attorney Selection Process 
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A.    The appointing authority will identify which of the appointment lists, discussed in the Section 

III (attorney qualifications), is most appropriate based on the accusations against the 

defendant and will appoint the attorney whose name is first on the list, unless the court 

makes a finding of good cause on the record for appointing an attorney out of order. Good 

cause may include: 

                                i.            The defendant requesting counsel does not understand 

English, in which case the judge will appoint the lawyer whose name appears next 

in order and speaks the clients language, if one is available; 

                              ii.            The defendant has an attorney already appointed on a prior 

pending or concluded matter. The same attorney will be appointed to the new 

matter, unless the attorney is not on the list for the type of offense involved in the 

current case; or 

                            iii.            Other good cause exists for varying from the list. 

B.     Once appointed, an attorney’s name will be moved to the bottom of the appointment list. An 

attorney who is not appointed in the order in which the attorney’s name appears on the list 

shall remain next in order on the list. 

C.     Judicial Removal from Case: 



                                i.            The judge presiding over a criminal case may remove 

appointed counsel upon entering a written order showing good cause for such 

removal, including without limitation, the following: 

1.      Counsel’s failure to appear at a court hearing; 

2.      Counsel’s failure to comply with the requirements imposed upon counsel by 

this plan; 

3.      Current information about the defendant and the charges against the defendant 

indicate that another qualified attorney is more appropriate for the defendant 

under these rules; 

4.      Replacement of appointed counsel in a death penalty case is required under 

Article 26.052(e), Texas Code of Criminal Procedure; 

5.      The appointed counsel shows good cause for being removed, such as illness, 

workload or scheduling difficulties; 

6.      The defendant requests an attorney, other than trial counsel, for appeal; or 

7.      The defendant shows good cause for removal of counsel, including Counsel’s 

persistent or prolonged failure to communicate with the defendant. 

                              ii.            Appointment of Replacement Counsel - Whenever appointed 

counsel is removed under this section, replacement counsel shall immediately be 

selected and appointed in accordance with the procedures described in this plan. 

D. Capital Felony Cases: 

i. The Regional Public Defender for Capital Cases shall be appointed to all capital 

felony cases unless good cause exists to appoint private counsel. 



1. If a co-defendant requests appointment of counsel and is determined to be 

indigent, the Appointing Authority shall appoint counsel pursuant to 

the standards and procedures stated in this Section. 

2. If private counsel is appointed to a co-defendant, rather the Regional 

Public Defender for Capital Cases, co-counsel will be appointed 

using the standards and procedures stated in this Section. 

 

                                 ii. The Regional Public Defender for Capital Cases may refuse to accept 

appointment to a case if: 

                                       

                                           1. A conflict of interest exists; 

                                           2. The Office has insufficient resources to provide adequate representation; 

                                           3. The Office is incapable of providing representation in accordance with the 

rules of professional conduct; 

                                           4. Acceptance of the appointment would violate the maximum allowable 

caseloads established for the office; or 

                                           5. The Office shows other good cause for refusing appointment. 

                               iii. The Appointing Authority shall immediately contact the attorneys appointed by 

phone, fax, e-mail or in person and notify the attorneys of the appointment last known location of 

the defendant. 

Fee and Expense Payment Process 
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A.    Court appointed counsel shall be compensated for all reasonable and appropriate services 

rendered in representing the accused. Compensation shall be reasonable for time and effort 

expended and will be in accordance with a fee schedule adopted and approved by a 

majority of the judges hearing criminal cases in the county. 

B.     Payment Process:  No payment of attorney’s fees will be made other than in accordance with 

the rules set forth below. 

                                i.            An appointed attorney shall fill out and submit a fee voucher 

to the court for services rendered. 

               ii.      The attorney fee voucher must be submitted within seven days of 

disposition of case with any supplemental documentation to be attached for fees 

exceeding the schedule. 

                              iii.            The trial judge presiding over the proceedings shall review 

the request for compensation and either approve or disapprove of the amount 

requested. 

1.      If a judge disapproves a request for compensation, the judge shall make 

written findings, stating the amount of payment that the judge approves and 

each reason for approving an amount different from the requested amount. 

2.      An attorney whose request for payment is disapproved or is not otherwise 

acted on by the 60th day after the date the request for payment is submitted 

may appeal the disapproval or failure to act by filing a motion with the 

presiding judge of this administrative judicial region. 

C.     Payment of Expenses: 



                                i.            Court appointed counsel will be reimbursed for reasonable 

and necessary expenses incurred, including expenses for investigation and for 

mental health and other experts. Expenses incurred with and without prior 

approval shall be paid according to the procedures set forth below. Whenever 

possible prior court approval should be obtained before expenses are incurred. 

                              ii.            Procedure With Prior Court Approval: 

1.      Appointed Counsel may file with the trial court a pretrial ex parte confidential 

request for advance payment of investigative and expert expenses. The 

request for expenses must state the below, as applicable: 

a.       The type of investigation to be conducted or the type of expert to be 

retained; 

b.      Specific facts that suggest the investigation will result in admissible 

evidence or that the services of an expert are reasonably necessary to 

assist in the preparation of a potential defense; and 

c.       An itemized list of anticipated expenses for each investigation and/or 

each expert. 

2.      The court shall grant the request for advance payment of expenses in whole or 

in part if the request is reasonable. If the court denies in whole or in part the 

request for expenses, the court shall: 

a.       State the reasons for the denial in writing; 

b.      Attach the denial to the confidential request; and 

c.       Submit the request and denial as a sealed exhibit to the record. 



                            iii.            Procedure Without Prior Court Approval:  Appointed counsel 

may incur investigative or expert expenses without prior approval of the court. On 

presentation of a claim for reimbursement, the court shall order reimbursement of 

counsel for the expenses, if the expenses are reasonably necessary and reasonably 

incurred. Unreasonable or unnecessary expenses will not be approved. 
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